Spending Time with Godard

I’ve been reading Richard Brody‘s book Everything is Cinema on Godard on and off for over a year. This book is so dense with information about his working style and film history that I’ve had to take it in small doses. It’s been worth the time as I now have a better sense of the sweep of Godard’s accomplishments.  Because of the breadth of his films, I felt I needed a deeper understanding of his working methods and intentions to grasp his oeuvre. I like that Brody tells the reader blow-by-blow about Godard on the set and about his partnerships. Here’s a thoughtful interview with Brody on writing this book.

This weekend I’m watching a somewhat recent Godard film, In Praise of Love (2001), as I haven’t felt ready before now to approach his work from this decade. I also decided to  start learning French at FIAF, something I’ve wanted to do for years.

Here’s a scene from the film:

Leave a Reply

