Rainy Sunday Activities

On this rainy New York Sunday I’m doing lots of odd and end activities. Some which I’d like to share.

I just read about this interesting SXSW panel coming Monday on the “Future of Context“. Here on some notes on the opening statement by Matt Thompson . He writes “‘ll be presenting a SXSW panel exploring how the need for context is becoming a driving force in journalism, publishing and other aspects of the media. (He’s on the panel Monday in Austin, TX with NYU’s Jay Rosen, Apture’s Tristan Harris and paidContent’s Staci Kramer).

I’m also finishing the second half the amazing doc Henri Langlois: Phantom of the Cinematheque about the founder of the Cinematheque Francaise. Just watching him speak is transfixing. One can see how he could convince anyone of anything. What a towering figure!

I bought a few new graphic books yesterday…

I found Dong Hwa Kim‘s The Color of Water which is part of a trilogy, but the store only had this one. I loved it so much that I’m thinking of venture out today to find the other two. It’s a coming of age story about a young girl living with her widowed mother that includes stunning images of spring throughout.

And the other is Theo Ellsworth‘s Capacity which I’m just starting this afternoon when I do downstairs to do the laundry. It looks odd and dreamy. I can’t wait to jump it.

Leave a Reply

